The Nikole Hannah-Jones Scholarship Awarded to Howard County Graduates

The Community Foundation of Howard County has announced Dylan Bradford and Mia Swaby-Rowe as the inaugural winners of the Nikole Hannah-Jones Scholarship Award program, receiving $5,000 each.

To qualify, applicants were required to write a short essay responding to the question, “What should racial justice look like in America?”

Greg Fitchitt, President, Columbia, for Howard Hughes adds “Nikole Hannah-Jones is a ground-breaking, investigative journalist known for her coverage of civil rights and racial injustice, and an inspiring leader. Establishing a scholarship in her name recognizes her accomplishments and is designed to encourage today’s bright students, who represent our country’s future and the young leaders of tomorrow, to explore and tackle the critical issues of social equity and justice.”

Read more about the winners on